Improve your writing

Review Stream : Opportunity or Scam?

Depending on who you ask, Review Stream is either a great way to earn some money, or a scam. Let’s see what we’ll get if we dig a little deeper then.

Review Stream claims to be “the only place on the Internet you can earn some cash just for writing the reviews!” Of course that’s not even remotely true, but I suppose we can chalk that up to “creative advertising”. Anyway,  the odd thing about Review Stream is that for everyone giving it the ok as a legitimate site, there’s an equal number of them out there who say it’s nothing more than a scam. Let’s see if this article can shed some light on the matter once and for all.

Hmm, let’s see what some searching around on the Internet will uncover.

OK, here are links to some reviews about Review Stream.

http://writinghood.com/writing/why-you-shouldnt-bother-writing-for-review-stream/

http://www.scamclub.com/blog/2006/11/reviewstreamcom-dont-try-it.html

http://wah-articles.work-from-home-directory.com/at-home-jobs/writing-jobs/more-writing-more-money-on-reviewstream.html

http://www.helium.com/knowledge/8556-experience-with-reviewstreamcom

http://paidopps.blogspot.com/2006/12/review-stream-or-review-scam.html

http://www.bukisa.com/articles/107681_my-horrible-experience-with-reviewstream-the-paid-to-review-site

*Note that the first two articles that I linked to get commented on by someone claiming to be “Reviewstream.com” Of course, anyone can claim to be “Reviewstream.com”, but to tell the truth, Reviewstream.com staff do sound like that, so I am going to make an educated guess and say that yes, those comments were by Reviewstream.com.

I find that my search turns up mixed reviews about Review Stream. I try looking at who wrote which articles to see which ones I should trust, but I see writers I do know as trustworthy writing for both sides (as well as “writers” who I don’t trust writing for both). So, no conclusion there.

I’ll look at Reviewstream itself then.

Let’s see what I do know about it. I have known about the site for a couple of years, and it appears that they have been around since 2005. Despite being around for this long, their website is still ugly and clunky and hard to navigate.

If we assume that the comment made in one of the articles was really made by Review Stream, they see no problem with having a yahoo e-mail address because “there spam filters are working great.” Review Stream staff are rude and have a poor grasp of English. And they are also vague about their criteria for accepting reviews. Again, assuming that it really was Review Stream making the comment, Review Stream claims to be based in Auckland, New Zealand. Looking at their Whois records, I find that they are hiding their real address by using a US proxy to register under a US address. And despite being supposed to be based in New Zealand, they somehow have a decision of exclusively hiring staff with a poor grasp of English.

Conclusion: They may or may not be a scam, but they do behave like one. The mixed reviews by writers needs some explaining, and while it may not be the case, the most logical explanation to come to mind is that they are operating a “pay x out of 10 writers” scam. So, all in all, I would say that Review Stream is likely a scam.

13
Liked it

Tags: , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Review Stream : Opportunity or Scam?”
  • Mary Patricia Bird
    January 5th, 2010 at 4:37 pm

    Great review. Thanks for the information.

  • Mary Patricia Bird
    January 5th, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    This is a great review. Thanks for the information.

  • guest
    April 15th, 2010 at 2:35 pm

    I have to say that I am starting to feel like that site is indeed, a scam. I have extensive writing experience and I feel like no matter what I write about on Review Stream, they reject at least 50 percent of my reviews. I’ve been told I didn’t use a product long enough. I’ve been told I’m not specific enough when I don’t know how much more specific I could possibly be. The have a note on the home page listing local businesses as a ’special request’. Every local business I have reviewed has been rejected, with the exception of doctors’ offices. You are absolutely correct in saying their review criteria is vague at best. Furthermore, they blatantly lie about how long it takes for a review to be reviewed by them. Their site says it takes three days; it has no taken over ten days and some of mine still haven’t been reviewed. They simply keep changing the date that they’ll get around to looking at it. The kicker? I try to review relevant products/places/websites, etc. I just read a review on their site for Chef Boyardee Canned Lasagne. Someone actually got paid for that? What a joke.

  • bo
    May 3rd, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Here’s the deal, Reviewstream is a great way to earn money if you have little concept of the English language. They tend to accept reviews based on whether or not their database has that article and how the article can incorporate google adsense. If you are a good writer, you can find better sites on line to earn money. If you’re bored and want to write a review where you only have to make sure it’s 250 words long and passes the Reviewstream spell check then you’re good. Expect to make .50 an article unless there are no other articles in Reviewstreams database of the same topic. To prove the point about grammar and quality, I’ve had my 9 year old son successfully write Reviewstream articles.

  • sunsetsunrise
    August 26th, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    My own experience with them was pretty bad. They rejected my reviews simply by saying ” WE ARE NOT INTERESTED” yes, in capital letters, as if they were yelling at me. I asked them if they can tell me how can i subscribe to their RSS feed and they responded with a rude ” No we cannot”. I have heard similar comments from many others.

  • sunsetsunrise
    August 26th, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Well Bo, when stuff from Reviewstream responds with messages full of typos, you realise that quality is not a priority for them. There are many really good sites to write to.

  • sunsetsunrise
    August 26th, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    Not to mention that i have heard that once you write something bad for them, they try to attack you. (as if anyone is scared of them).Unprofessionalism at its finest.

  • willyable
    November 10th, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    I never usually comment on these srticles because it just seems to be pointless. BUT, I have been workign for Reviewstream for about a year. Before, I truely thought they were a scam. I had known about them for a long time but refused to invest any time in them because their set up was a turn off. I was down and out and didn’t have NO income so I gave it a chance. I have earned so much money with them it’s ridiculous. Of course, there are other places to earn like Associate content etc. But they are easier. You have to learn their system, they aren’t going to give it away. That was the hard part for me. When I first started alot of my reviews were being rejected and I didn’t know why. Well after writing for them for so long, I now understand how to get ALL of my reviews excepted. It’s not a bad site by far, they have paid each and every time I have cashed out and I must admit that they are the only people that I currently write for.

  • emilyrose
    December 13th, 2010 at 4:03 am

    I assure you they are nothing more than a scam. I finally reach payout and they then accuse me of cheating and ban my account; refusing payout. Yet, I did not cheat and my reviews are still on their website earning them money.

  • Lynn
    January 7th, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    ReviewStream.com may not be all that legit. I am still awaiting to be paid it has been long after the 72 hour process time, and the site claim they did not have one of my reviews. I emailed them and the reply email tone I did not like. My review was listed there on the site in queue after I resubmitted it, I did receive a note saying that my review was submitted when I click the submit bottom. When I check that next day reviewstream had taken one of the reviews out of queue and said at the bottom of the page that the review was rejected. There is know way of knowing if you are getting paid the correct amount your review could be worth more then .40 but that is what they will pay you. I read that the site pay from $2-$100. They have now undated the site to say they pay $2.50 for reviews.

Leave a Reply
comments powered by Disqus
Click the icon to the left to subscribe to Writinghood with your favorite RSS reader.
© 2009 Writinghood | About | Advertise | Contact | Submit an Article
Powered by